Mixing Tutorial

Mix Review with Bob Horn & Erik Reichers - Episode 1

  4.7   (17)  - log in to review
13 Videos | Length: 2hr 32min 23sec
Sample this tutorial...
Own it Forever
$40 Download
Site All-Access Pass
$15 /month Get Your Pass
  • image description

    Goldberg Mix Review - Introduction (13:21)


  • image description

    The Drums Pt. 1 (9:09)


  • image description

    The Drums Pt. 2 (14:47)


  • image description

    The Bass (11:01)


  • image description

    Guitars Pt. 1 (9:11)


  • image description

    Guitars Pt. 2 (11:56)


  • image description

    Guitars Pt. 3 (11:12)


  • image description

    Vocals Pt. 1 (12:59)


  • image description

    Vocals Pt. 2 (8:12)


  • image description

    Master Bus Pt. 1 (12:52)


  • image description

    Master Bus Pt. 2 (14:40)


  • image description

    Master Bus Pt. 3 (11:24)


  • image description

    Master Bus Pt. 4 (11:39)


Industry pro engineers, mixers and producers Bob Horn and Erik Reichers are pulling back the curtain, taking a home recordist’s non-pro mix and importing it side by side into their DAW, showing you in-detail how they would approach the mix in real-time, from start to finish. Get priceless tips and see where the improvements can be made and how to make them, creating a true professional, radio ready mix!

Shot in Pro Tools, but applicable to any DAW, Bob and Erik start by playing you the mix of the song “Pull Me Down” by Bob Goldberg, then discuss how they’ll approach the mix and hit the ground running starting with the Drums, crafting a killer drum tone.

After seeing them get the Drums sounding top-notch, they then move onto the Bass, Guitars, and Vocals, covering in-depth all the changes they would make and why, giving you a clear picture of how to best tweak and dial-in the perfect sound for each, all for the benefit of the overall mix.

Last but not least, Bob and Erik reveal the all-important Sub Group Busses and Master Bus, including how to set them up, and how and why to use specific processors and their settings. At the end, the difference is quite clear, and you’ll realize how the total is really the sum of all the small adjustments made along the way.

See the individual tutorial descriptions for more info. If you want to see how professional mix engineers take a non-pro mix and turn it into something special, checkout “Mix review with Bob Horn & Erik Reichers - Episode 1” today!


Why Users Choose Us

There are many things our users love about Groove3, but a couple always stand out at the top when asked why people choose us as their learning resource.

Quality Content

We meticulously craft professional quality tutorials that are thoughtful, informative and done with attention to detail. We stand behind our products with a 100% satisfaction guarantee and are trusted by 1000s of users every day.

Save Time & Money

Our library brings over 1500 hours of quality instruction to you fingertips and we release new content every week. Don't waste your valuable time scouring the web for information you may never find or is cumbersome to use and potentially can't be trusted.

Jeroen Simons
Submitted 4 months ago

These guys are great!!

I love the details, the tips they are giving and their professionalism is obvious present here...:)

I am a: Professional, Musician, Producer, Audio Engineer, Mastering Facility, Cubase, Reaper

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

musosteve
Submitted 5 months ago

Interesting and Useful

Always great to see how someone else does things. I can see similar stuff and also the the same thing achieved in different ways to how I do it.

I am a: Semi-Pro, Musician, Cubase

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

Gary Leahy "Layedback Studios"
Submitted 7 months ago

I found itI found how interesting at the approach the pros can turn a passable mix though into an open dynamic mix. Very well done.

My only criticism of Groove 3 tutorial versus some competitors is Two-Fold 1. Quality of “Video Resolution”. Should be at least 1080P 2. No “Stems” to apply what the tutors are teaching to see if you are getting near the projection of the mix that the tutors want you the listener or student want achieve. This of course would only apply in Audio Engineering Tutorials. I feel if Groove 3 were to address these issues I would imagine that Groove 3 would see a rise in subscription and downloads

I am a: Semi-Pro, Musician, Audio Engineer, Pro Tools

Response from Customer Service:

Thank you for your review! We truly appreciate it.
Glad you like the tutorial. As far as not offering stems for our material: for most mixing tutorials we do in the Course Extras button on the product pages. In some rare cases (such as this one) there are copyright and or contractual reasons why the stems cannot be offered. But we always encourage everyone to apply the techniques learned to their own projects.
Thanks again!
Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

VCC
Submitted 8 months ago

Excellent Mix Process

I watched two of these videos and get a sense that these guys have an effective and systematic way to approaching all areas of mixing that should lead to professional results.

I am a: Semi-Pro, Musician, Producer, Logic Pro, Pro Tools, Studio One

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

norm
Submitted 9 months ago

Great comparison of two mixing techniques

Bob and Erik walk through the decisions they made on each track of a very cool rock song

I am a: Semi-Pro, Musician, Reaper

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

BGBeatz1
Submitted 9 months ago

Very Helpful

It was helpful in comparing the the two mixes and showing how to better the mix

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

Nicolas Gabsi
Submitted 9 months ago

Nice improvement of the song.

The idea of making comparison on how Bob and Erik thought their way of mixing step by step is just great! I wish I had some courses like that when I was in school.

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

dan19460
Submitted 9 months ago

Just awesome!

We need more vids like this. Very well produced. Tons of practical tips. Great pace.

I am a: Hobbyist, Musician, Producer, Audio Engineer

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

Baeli
Submitted 9 months ago

Very good!

Very entertaining and informative, looking forward to the next one. Thanks guys.

I am a: Hobbyist, Musician, Producer, Logic Pro

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

miloshima
Submitted 9 months ago

Honesty from Pros

Really loved this - the presentation - the objectivity - the subtle touches and tips that demonstrated the tough process of mixing - with no "I'm a mixing genius" bloviation. Everything here is at a somewhat advanced level - so beginners might want to get to know their plugins a bit better before diving in - but on second thought, this might get you to read the manuals too (something these guys have clearly done). Thank you guys for a great video!

Ease of Use
 
 
 
 
 
Quality of Videos
 
 
 
 
 
Value of Training
 
 
 
 
 
Access to Videos
 
 
 
 
 

Bob Horn - Bob Horn is a multi-platinum, Grammy award winning Mix Engineer known for working with Artists spanning many genres; R&B, Pop, Hip Hop, Rock, Adult Contemporary, and Jazz, as well as artists from countries around the globe including Korea, Japan, Spain, Indonesia, and China. Some of those artists include: Usher, Timbaland, Michael Jackson, NeYo, Brandy, Ashanti, Dave Koz, Akon, Lupe Fiasco, Chinx, Stalley, Brian Culbertson, Everclear, Faith Evans, Brian McKnight, Trace Adkins, LeAnn Rimes, The Common Kings and many more. Bob attended Berklee College of Music in the mid- to late-'90s before relocating to Nashville in 1998 to begin his career as an recording engineer. Then in 2001 moved to Los Angeles to pursue a career as a mix engineer. Although Bob's career focus is mixing music, he is an accomplished musician playing drums, guitar, bass and piano, and is also involved in songwriting and production. In 2011 Bob, and a long time friend and colleague designed and built The EchoBar Recording Studios in North Hollywood, CA where he records and mixes for his clients.

Erik Reichers - With a career that spans two decades, Erik Reichers has engineered, mixed, and produced for some of the music industry’s most notable professionals including Jimmy Iovine, Ron Fair, Dr. Dre, Snoop Dogg, Bono (of U2), Ryan Tedder, Dave Stewart (of the Eurythmics) Dorothy, Herbie Hancock, The Neighbourhood, Everclear, Rahsaan Patterson, Gladys Knight, Paul Jackson Jr., DJ Quick, DJ Battlecat, Eric Benet, Lupe´ Fiasco and many more. In 2011, with the help of his friend and fellow engineer Bob Horn, Erik designed and built the Echo Bar Recording Studios in North Hollywood, California. With his keen attention to acoustics as well as his aesthetic taste Erik has garnered the attention of several industry professionals. In 2015, Dave Pensado requested that Erik design his current mix room at Fab Factory Studios in North Hollywood. Erik has also been commissioned to design and consult on the construction of a listening room for industry icon LA Reid. Erik has now designed and overseen the construction of 7 recording studios, mix rooms, and mastering houses across the United States. Erik is a consummate student. He enjoys learning new skills and techniques in all things music production and audio engineering related as well as studio design, acoustics, video production and photography.

Products by Bob

  • image description
    tutorial video

    Mix Review with Bob Horn & Erik Reichers - Episode 1

    Industry pro engineers, mixers and producers Bob Horn and Erik Reichers are pulling back the curtain, taking a home recordist’s non-pro mix and importing it side by side into their DAW, showing you in-detail how they would approach the mix in real-time, from start to finish. Get priceless tips and see where the improvements can be made and how to make them, creating a true professional, radio ready mix!

  • image description
    tutorial video

    Mix Review with Bob Horn & Erik Reichers - Episode 2

    Industry pro engineers, mixers and producers Bob Horn and Erik Reichers return with their second episode of Mix Review! Watch as they take a recordist’s non-pro mix and import it side by side into their DAW, and show you in-detail, how they would approach the mix in real-time, from start to finish. Get priceless tips and see where the improvements can be made and how to make them, creating a true professional, radio ready mix.

You might be also interested in

Adam Pollard aka Multiplier, delivers videos on an invaluable topic, loudness. Understanding loudness gives you an edge when mixing, mastering, or just preparing your tracks and songs for further processing or release. See why with these tutorials!

The All-Access Pass gives you just that, instant online access to every single video tutorial currently on the site and any ones that get added during your membership.

Adam Pollard aka Multiplier, brings you another series designed for the electronic music producer, this time focused on the highly important technique of creating and using sidechain compression.

Industry pro engineers, mixers and producers Bob Horn and Erik Reichers return with their second episode of Mix Review! Watch as they take a recordist’s non-pro mix and import it side by side into their DAW, and show you in-detail, how they would approach the mix in real-time, from start to finish. Get priceless tips and see where the improvements can be made and how to make them, creating a true professional, radio ready mix.

Adam Pollard aka Multiplier, now focuses on Dynamics and Compressors and how they’re used in the Electronic Music genre to tame signals as well as create interesting effects and colors.

Times have surely changed regarding the way we work with and manipulate audio, as new options and techniques are constantly being developed and explored. Studio guru Chris Herrera bings the first volume of videos focused on these methods, looking at cool advanced bus routing and resampling ideas and practices.

Adam Pollard aka Multiplier, brings you the first of many series designed for the electronic music producer. In this series, Multiplier covers some basics and deeper sides of EQ, as well as how it’s utilized when producing electronic music.

In this Groove3 video tutorial series, Eli Krantzberg shows you how to make a killer mix using nothing but the Waves Gold Bundle. See and hear the mix come together and to life, step by step. The individual tracks are also included so you can follow along and mix on your own studio system!

Phil Magnotti is a 3 time Grammy award winning, 20 time nominated Recording Mixing Engineer with over 300 major label credits to his name. Phil now reveals to you, his techniques and methods for mixing a track from scratch in Pro Tools, enabling you to get professional results out of your mixes.

Learn the nuts and bolts of mixing in Logic Pro X! Eli Krantzberg takes you on a mixing journey using nothing but LPX, showing you all the features and functions, steps, techniques and theories to use to create a professional sounding product. You also get the full Logic Project and audio files so you can mix or remix along in real-time!

Mix Review with Bob Horn & Erik Reichers - Episode 1 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 17 .
Rated 5.0 out of 5 by from These guys are great!! I love the details, the tips they are giving and their professionalism is obvious present here...:)
Date published: 2018-05-11
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by from Interesting and Useful Always great to see how someone else does things. I can see similar stuff and also the the same thing achieved in different ways to how I do it.
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 3.5 out of 5 by from I found itI found how interesting at the approach the pros can turn a passable mix though into an open dynamic mix. Very well done. My only criticism of Groove 3 tutorial versus some competitors is Two-Fold 1. Quality of “Video Resolution”. Should be at least 1080P 2. No “Stems” to apply what the tutors are teaching to see if you are getting near the projection of the mix that the tutors want you the listener or student want achieve. This of course would only apply in Audio Engineering Tutorials. I feel if Groove 3 were to address these issues I would imagine that Groove 3 would see a rise in subscription and downloads
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by from Excellent Mix Process I watched two of these videos and get a sense that these guys have an effective and systematic way to approaching all areas of mixing that should lead to professional results.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by from Great comparison of two mixing techniques Bob and Erik walk through the decisions they made on each track of a very cool rock song
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by from Very Helpful It was helpful in comparing the the two mixes and showing how to better the mix
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5.0 out of 5 by from Nice improvement of the song. The idea of making comparison on how Bob and Erik thought their way of mixing step by step is just great! I wish I had some courses like that when I was in school.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5.0 out of 5 by from Just awesome! We need more vids like this. Very well produced. Tons of practical tips. Great pace.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by from Very good! Very entertaining and informative, looking forward to the next one. Thanks guys.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by from Honesty from Pros Really loved this - the presentation - the objectivity - the subtle touches and tips that demonstrated the tough process of mixing - with no "I'm a mixing genius" bloviation. Everything here is at a somewhat advanced level - so beginners might want to get to know their plugins a bit better before diving in - but on second thought, this might get you to read the manuals too (something these guys have clearly done). Thank you guys for a great video!
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5.0 out of 5 by from Unbelievably helpful I feel like all mixing tutorials should be like this! These guys are great at getting across the kind of things that people struggling with their mixes need to know. For example, just five minutes of Bob talking about master bus compression settings clarified so much in my head. Excellent tutorial format and a wealth of great information in these videos.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by from Well Done! Good tips and points of view on the approach for a good tight mix. Cheers
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by from This was soooo helpful Bob and Erik explained things well. It was great to hear Bob break down the issues he heard in the mix and the quick A/B comparison was a game changer. I would love to see bob do this with some female R&B vocals!
Date published: 2017-11-27
Rated 5.0 out of 5 by from Great for perspective It is so easy to backslide when mixing alone. Thes is a great reference for how bright is too bright, the difference between round and muddy. Things like that. These folks do this every day, and seem to have their ears well calibrated. Can't wait to go home and pull some of my mixes more into the pocket. Also, nice tune Goldberg!
Date published: 2017-11-25
Rated 5.0 out of 5 by from One of the best out there! First, these guys are proven professionals with credits a mile long. You get to sit and learn from the best of the best. The information is gold here. Not only are you seeing and hearing the choices made, they stop explain Why! That is the most important question. They go through their thought processes to help you understand the reason each step was implemented. This is rarely heard in tutorial land on the internet. The video is crisp and the audio is pristine. This is one of the most intelligent tutorial I've watched to date. I hope there are more to come. Thanks, Bob, Erik and the Groove3 team.
Date published: 2017-11-20
Rated 5.0 out of 5 by from Great insights and thought processes Great insights and thought processes that everyone should know.
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 5.0 out of 5 by from very nice and surprising very nice and surprising. one of the most interesting mix through processing I have watched. I related a lot to the mistakes (amateur mix vs pro mix), and could learn a bunch. pretty funny reaction when u listen and notice "oh, I do that every time". pretty awesome value. Also very surprising to see how much limiting and compression went for the song. hope this product (mix review) gets at least two videos per month. lots of people will relate, I think.
Date published: 2017-11-18
We use cookies to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. By continuing to use this site you agree to the use of cookies. View Privacy Policy